His name? It was Giorgio.

Having been at least two months since my last post, I will admit I am a bit nervous. I have this nasty habit of over thinking things, and as such am positive that this post will be slightly sub par. But I will readily blame that on my rusty blogging skills, and the fact that I am blogging at work (it’s the little acts of rebellion that makes life interesting).

However, despite my apparent neglect, I habitually continue to think about the things that I can blog about and have accumulated a billion (slightly exaggerated, there’s really like ten) pictures that I could share. It also occurred to me a few weeks ago that I missed my blogging birthday. Just one year and a few weeks ago, I decided to cross “starting a blog” off my bucket list, jetted off on my own little travel adventure and started sharing life nonsense with everybody and nobody all at the same time. So – Happy belated blogging birthday to me!

So his name? It’s not really Giorgio.

Every morning, I follow the same mundane routine. I come into work, I grab a coffee and I walk by a set of chairs that is infallibly inhabited by this tiny old man wearing the same brown trousers and navy windbreaker, even if it’s 43 degrees Celsius out (with humidity). Every evening when I leave, I retrace my steps back past those same sets of chairs and out the same door, past the same special old man. And every morning he tells me I’m beautiful, and every night he wishes that I have a good one. Sometimes, he even says “bon giorno” (I’m sure just to spice things up), genuinely followed by “have a great day beautiful”. He makes my day, even if he doesn’t know it, even if sometimes I don’t know it myself. In fact, when he’s not there I find myself missing this adorable nameless stranger.

I have decided, I will learn his name. One day, I will be walking by and be so seriously afflicted with another case of the fuck its that I will not care who stares at me, or whose standing around… I will sit down and talk to him.

But until then, I will call him Giorgio.

Old people rule, and man can they be fabulous.

The next set of images are photos that I loved and found on other sites, but mostly taken from fashion photographer Ari Seth Cohen’s blog “Advanced Style” (he also has a book and a documentary). His collaboration with Karen Walker features models ages 60 – 90ish rocking her 2013 sunglasses collection. And damn, these ladies were on point. Threw in some Iris Apfel for color, street stylishly savvy gents and women that remind us you’re never too old to be killin’ it.

Model: Ilona Royce Smithkin, 92 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Ilona Royce Smithkin, 92 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Lynn Dell, 80 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Lynn Dell, 80 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Linda Rodin, 65 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Linda Rodin, 65 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Joyce Carpati, 80 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Model: Joyce Carpati, 80 years old from Karen Walker Eyewear & Advanced Style

Ruth, 100 years old

Ruth, 100 years old

Jacqueline Tajah Murdock, 82 years old

Model: Jacqueline Tajah Murdock, 82 years old

Model: Tziporah Salamon, 62 years old

Model: Tziporah Salamon, 62 years old

Tziporah Salamon

Bow ties, blue skies (from Advanced Style)

Bow ties, blue skies
(from Advanced Style)

Iris Apfel

Iris Apfel

Iris Apfel on the cover of Dazed and Confused (she's holding a tweety cup!)

Iris Apfel on the cover of Dazed and Confused (she’s holding a tweety cup!)

Iris Apfel

Iris Apfel for MAC cosmetics

To learn more about the models, read some interviews or generally look at wicked pictures:
http://advancedstyle.blogspot.ca
http://www.karenwalkereyewear.com/

Leave a Reply

